Sean-Scéal / Jimmy Penguin [foot148] (2010.07.04)

foot148 cover image

Release notes

"I use a lot of piano in my music, so I wanted to make an album that was based around piano compositions. Confined to the restrictions of writing mostly sample based music, this was an opportunity to explore different arrangement techniques and gave me more freedom in terms of scale and chord progression." When he sent us his demo tracks, there were other EPs showing his scratch skills, but finally this one was left for us. "I'm a self taught musician and have studied very little music theory, so I like to try and learn as much as I can from each piece of music I create. This meant producing Sean-Scéal was very enjoyable as I learnt a lot from it. I made this album with the intention of re-creating it using strictly turntable manipulation, I decided to keep the original tracks instead, but this is a project I look forward to working on again at some stage."


Track list

  1. Realunyun (3:54)
  2. Martian Mellow Didley (4:02)
  3. Jelapano (3:18)
  4. Twice Heard (3:56)
  5. Capal Shmore (3:50)
  6. Leaves (4:03)
  7. Delete-beet (3:41)

MP3, total time 26:43, total size 36.6MB